This is how not-used to eating fruit I am …

Or something similar with better grammar that looks less like something Yoda would say. Anyway …

While I’m still not making a serious attempt at losing weight, I’m trying to at least do simple things like not eat junk food at work. The vending machines only charge $.25 and the two freezers are stuffed full of free ice cream bars–talk about hog heaven. Due to stress and just the sheer convenience of it, I’ve been indulging way too much lately.

What helps for me is to weigh every morning. I know a lot of people would advise against that because people end up obsessing over every little pound instead of looking at the big picture, but if I know I will weigh the next morning, I’m less likely to overeat and/or eat the wrong things. Tho, yes, sometimes I also end up obsessing over every little pound, but the upside is that it makes me more aware of my eating habits.

Anyway, went off on a bit of a tangent there. More to the point, I’m trying to eat more fruits and veggies–maybe I’ll make another entry about that later.

Well … I gotta be more careful when it comes to overripe fruit. I bought 2 huge peaches from the grocery store and decided that 1/4 of one is the perfect post-lunch dessert. The problem with that is that a cut-up peach sat in the fridge for 4 days. That last piece was not looking so good. Normally, I trust my senses, so since it smelled and tasted (marginally) okay, I figured it was safe to eat. This was Friday afternoon.

Friday night, after working on a project for hours and staying up until 2:30 AM, I decided to go to bed. Then my stomach started to hurt. Badly. Plus … err, there’s that other thing that goes along with stomach cramps. I go to bed thinking this couldn’t possibly last that long.

Nope, stomach was KILLING me and I was not gonna be able to sleep. So I get up, take some Immodium AD (couldn’t find the Pepto) and wait about 90 minutes for it to go away. Somehow, chamomile tea seemed to make it worse, but after 90 minutes, it subsided to the point where I was finally ready to try to go to sleep again.

I sleep until about 8. Stomach still hurts, and I’ve still got that other issue. I find the Pepto, take it, then go back to bed. Around 11, I wake up again and finally feel mostly better, but I have no appetite and decide not to make breakfast that morning. Sure enough, after morning coffee, stomach starts hurting again.

We had errands to run, so I buckled down and did it (going to Walmart on the weekend SUCKS!). By the time I got home, I was more tired and irritable than anything, but still with no appetite. Around 3 or so in the afternoon, I finally feel hungry, so I go with something simple: peanut butter on toast with just a little butter and honey for taste (I read somewhere that toast with PB is a good remedy for stomach cramps and … that other thing).

Dinnertime comes and I’m finally ready to eat real food. Since we didn’t have our usual breakfast and it was sounding good too me (and Lee) I made it for dinner. Can’t even describe how good scrambled eggs, sausage, and a little bit of grits with coffee tasted after not eating for most of the day. I don’t think I was ravenously hungry–I think I just missed food.

Anyway, I’m fine now. Sorry if this was a bit of TMI, but I’m posting it partly as a warning to myself to be more careful in the future. I mean, I basically ruined half of my weekend because I decided to be stubborn and eat a piece of fruit that I think I knew, deep down, had gone bad, and gave myself mild food poisoning. I think I just didn’t realize the results could be so devastating. Damn.

One Response to “This is how not-used to eating fruit I am …”

  1. Oh man, I get so many stomach problems that I just see it as something really normal to me… sadly!

Leave a Reply

