I Have Officially (Mostly) Given Up Dairy (For Now)

Actually, this is kind of an update to a previous post where I talked about hitting a wall (or at least a steep incline) with my weight loss.

I don’t plan to give up dairy forever, but I wanted to try cutting it out of my diet for awhile to see what happens. I figure after that, and especially once I get down to my goal weight, I can have it on occasion.

I ended up starting a week ago, with a couple exceptions–I did still have some fat bombs left that were made with butter, and I was continuing to eat those once a day, if only so they wouldn’t go to waste, and I did put a little butter on my steamed carrots for a couple days, but that’s it. Oh, and I had maybe a 1/2 cup of milk–one of my co-workers turned 50, and we celebrated with milk and cookies. I hadn’t had milk and cookies in ages so I decided to splurge a little. But I haven’t touched cheese in a week–I even got a regular (bun-less) burger from Five Guys, instead of the usual cheeseburger (it’s a weekly thing)–I put sliced avocado on it when I got home instead.

I also just made clarified butter, which I will now use instead of regular butter. Bit of a compromise, but it is supposed to basically take all of the “bad” stuff out that makes some people sensitive to dairy products. Fairly popular in the primal community.

I have also started doing the Primal Blueprint fitness routine (well, the push-ups, squats, and planks anyway–don’t have a pull-up bar). Meant to do it on Tuesday and Friday, but I was so full from the burger last night, I decided to put it off until today–haven’t done it yet, but I WILL. Probably shortly after typing this. But I also did a session of sprinting on Wednesday–all this along with my daily walking routine.

The result is that I lost 2 lbs this week! So yay–hopefully I can stay on track and go back to averaging a pound per week.

No improvement in my sinuses that I’ve noticed, but my husband had a very mild bug of some kind, which I think I had an even milder version of, so that may have cancelled out any good reaction from the lack of dairy.

2 Responses to “I Have Officially (Mostly) Given Up Dairy (For Now)”

  1. Woo, congrats on the weight loss! I’m glad the exercising/dairy-free seems to be helping you. I’ve been seriously thinking about trying a dairy-free experiment to see if it would do anything for me, but I just can’t imagine life without it. Is that an addiction? Lol

    Also, pretty new background!

    • Thankies.

      LOL, I know the feeling. I love cheese and it was great being able to have it without guilt, but giving it up was easier than I thought.

      And about the background, thanks–the change in yours kind of inspired me to try to find a more interesting background for mine. Tho I think the orange text clashes with it a bit, but WordPress won’t let me change it. Maybe sometime I’ll try to find a better template, but it feels like too much trouble right now =P

Leave a Reply

