Hit Another Weight Landmark

I am now down 35 lbs from when I started doing low-carb in November. So yay, and stuff.

Losing one pound per week lasted a hell of a lot longer than I thought it would, but lately it seems like it’s slowed down a lot. I actually looked at my front page on MyFitnessPal, and it said it had been 3 weeks since I’d last updated, meaning I didn’t lose any weight in all that time ;/  I guess it wouldn’t be fair to say I hit a plateau, but progress has slowed down more than I’d like.

I think my calories and carbs are at good levels–I don’t track my food every single day, but I eat more or less the same thing every day, at least during the week. I think one problem is that I’ve gotten into the habit of treating myself a little too often. Like grabbing a candy bar from the vending machine once per week is borderline okay, but I form habits really easily and I’ll end up doing it maybe three days in a row.

But even aside from that, I never was trying all that hard. All I had to do was avoid sugar and carbs most of the time, not even really bother exercising, and the weight seemed to just come off on its own, practically. I knew that would catch up with me eventually, and I guess it has, or it’s gaining on me at least.

As I mentioned recently, in that big update, I’ve been thinking about cutting out dairy for awhile. It actually wasn’t for the purpose of losing weight, it was an attempt to see if I was having some kind of mild allergic reaction to it. I’ve had sinus problems for years–I have to clear my throat a lot, and for awhile, I was getting a bad cold/mild-flu/sinus-infection-type-thing several times per year. Since I improved my eating habits, I think I’ve only gotten that sick one time, and I don’t wake myself up coughing anymore, so I think it’s not as bad as it used to be, but I’m still having to clear my throat a lot. Anyway, I’ve heard that dairy can trigger that sort of thing, so I’m gonna try to cut it out for awhile and see if my sinuses get better. I also have water retention in my feet–I’m kind of hoping it’s the cause of that too. But if cutting out dairy helps with weight loss, that’d be awesome.

If that turns out to be the case, I’m really gonna miss cheese XD  It was something I avoided for a long time while doing the low-fat thing back when I didn’t know any better, and getting to enjoy it again without any kind of guilt was a real treat. But it has become my go-to food way too much lately, plus I think I’ve gotten the novelty of it out of my system, and I’m maybe even growing a bit tired of it.

Haven’t decided if I’m gonna start next week or not, but I did manage to find coconut milk at the grocery store, so I can if I decide to, assuming I even like the taste of it and it goes well with coffee (never actually tried it before).

I need to somehow step up the exercise too–maybe incorporate weights. We do have some dumbbells. I just need to figure out what to do with them =P

Leave a Reply

