Chocolate Cherry Recipe Type Thing

So I’m kind of training myself for giving up dairy today–trying to think outside the box a little and not just grab something dairy-based because I’m in the mood for it or because I want to eat something in a hurry.

Earlier, I was craving chocolate, and I went as far as pulling out a square of 60% dark chocolate, then I read the ingredients on the label. Yes, I know, it’s only a small amount of dairy, but, like I said, I’m trying to challenge myself a bit. So I got to thinking about posts I’d seen on the MDA forums and I remembered someone mixing coconut oil with unsweetened cocoa powder … couldn’t remember what else they did, so I just winged it after that, and this is what I came up with.

.

Ingredients

  • 4 spoonfuls of coconut oil (melted)
  • 2 heaping-ish spoonfuls of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 spoonful of Truvia
  • 2 frozen black cherries.

Directions

Combine everything but the cherries in a small bowl (only downside is that the truvia won’t really dissolve–I suppose you could heat it, but I was too lazy).

Chop up the still-frozen cherries into small pieces. By then, they will have warmed to the point where they’ll basically just be very cold, no longer frozen. Stir chopped cherries into the chocolate mixture, which will solidify and coat them.

Eat with a spoon and enjoy. End result is kind of like a crumbled fruity chocolate bar.

OMG, it’s so good. Lots of calories for what it is, unfortunately, but no sugar (other than what’s naturally in the cherries) and low carb.

Here’s the breakdown I got when I entered it into MyFitnessPal, but not sure how accurate it is, since I just measured with a regular spoon, which I’m pretty sure isn’t a full Tablespoon measurement–I basically used Tablespoons for entering the recipe, then halved it.

257 Calories
9 Carbs
1 Protein

2 Responses to “Chocolate Cherry Recipe Type Thing”

  1. That looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

