Spaghetti Squash (and other veggies-in-disguise)

I’ve decided I like it!

I originally tried it back when I was on South Beach Diet a few years ago. I had tried to use it as a replacement for pasta and … I dunno, it didn’t do too much for me at the time. Maybe I just don’t like it with spaghetti sauce, or maybe it was seemingly everyone claiming it was exactly like real spaghetti which caused me to be disappointed that it wasn’t.

In any case, I gave it another chance today–told myself, “Okay, this is SQUASH, deal with it” and tried some with just butter, salt, and Parmesan cheese … and I like it! I think next time, I’ll add cooked chicken. Would probably be good with garlic too. Hell, maybe I’ll even try adding spaghetti sauce again sometime to see if I’ve warmed up to it.

I only ate about a third of it, and put the other two thirds in the freezer so I’ll be able to have some again soon with less effort. I also kept the seeds (also in the freezer) so I can roast them some time–I read somewhere that you can roast the seeds of just about any squash and it’ll taste about the same as roasted pumpin seeds, and I used to love those. I just feel so resourceful right now  =P

I’ve also decided that I like grated cauliflower “rice”, also with just butter and salt.

I tried making turnip “fries” not too long ago–they didn’t turn out very good, but I think they were under-cooked, so I’m definitely gonna give that a shot again sometime.

Y’know, I think I just like vegetables that don’t look like vegetables  XD

Some of the more “hard core” members of the Paleo community frown on this sort of thing–it’s the idea of making primal food mimic “standard American diet” (I love that the acronym for that is “SAD”, BTW, very fitting) food rather than keeping it the way it is–like you’ll be more likely to go back to the old food or something. I do kind of see the point, but I dunno … I just think stuff like this is kind of fun to make sometimes.

Maybe it’s the challenge.

3 Responses to “Spaghetti Squash (and other veggies-in-disguise)”

  1. I think if the mimic food (turnip fries or cauli rice) are helping you on your journey and help you eat more veggies, then that’s all that matters.

    It’s funny that you mention spaghetti squash 🙂 I have one left from last winter (they have a loooong shelf life) that I was going to cook up today and serve with spaghetti sauce and meat balls!

    • Great minds and all that =P

      Wow, I didn’t realize they lasted that long–I’d had that one in the fridge for something like 2-3 weeks and was worried it’d go bad soon if I didn’t hurry up and cook it. I thought I had read somewhere that they only last that long–maybe that’s only after they’ve been cut.

      • littlesapphire Says:

        Yep, I think you’re probably right about 2-3 weeks being their shelf life once cut and cooked. All winter squash lasts for a long time, although I have to say spaghetti squash has lasted twice as long as all the others I got last year.

Leave a Reply

