Cool Whip vs. Reddi-wip

Just thought I’d share something interesting I came across.

Something about summer is making me crave fruit (preferably strawberries and blueberries) and whipped cream–in fact, it sounds like a nice thing to have on July 4th. Now of course, ideally, if you want something like whipped cream, you should just make it yourself so that you know what’s in it, and I am trying to cut down on pre-processed stuff because it’s almost always loaded with junk–but, due to my living situation, I don’t always get access to the kitchen when I want it, so I started thinking about what I read about Cool Whip recently, that it’s vegetable oil based–ick.

So I looked it up and, sure enough, the first three ingredients are water, hydrogenated vegetable oil, and high fructose corn syrup (you get down to 5th place before you see a dairy product and it’s skim milk).

So, I immediately thought, “Well, uh … how about Reddi-Wip, the stuff in the spray can? Yeah, that’s probably worse”. But actually the first three ingredients are cream, water, and sugar … no HFCS even.

Yeah, ironically, the stuff in the aerosol can is the lesser of two evils–who knew? I’m not saying it’s a good option (it’s list of ingredients is just as long as Cool Whip’s), but at least it has actual cream in it. As an occasional thing goes, it could be worse.

Hopefully I’ll lose the craving by Monday, but if not, I may just end up getting some.

3 Responses to “Cool Whip vs. Reddi-wip”

  1. Carve as in… OHHHH for a second I thought you meant “Fruit carving”, which believe it or not is an art onto it’s own, really! BUT I DIGRESS!

    Well people say whipped cream is always the best when self made, but I do have the mind of a realist, so I get it, but truly if you have a choice, you should pick the best. 🙂

  2. Yeah, I totally hear you. Sometimes you just don’t have the time/equipment to whip up a fresh batch of whipped cream. Reddi-whip isn’t really the best, but you have to remember that it’s mostly air. So you’re only getting a small amount of that bad stuff when you eat it. So once in a while? I say go for it 🙂

    Now for easy whipped cream in just a couple minutes: Immersion blender and a wide mouth pint or quart mason jar. Works every time.

Leave a Reply

