Not eating as many veggies as I probably should

This is something I’ve noticed recently. And … surprisingly it doesn’t seem to be too big of a deal, at least in the short term.

It makes sense–paleolithic people probably occasionally had to survive on just the animals they killed  if it was during the winter or edible plants were otherwise unavailable. Not to mention people like the Inuits who thrive on eating that way all the time.

It’s not that I don’t eat ANY veggies, but it’s mostly just a small helping of steamed carrots and the lettuce I use in my lettuce wrap for lunch … at home I go straight for the meat and cheese, or the “paleo bread” with peanut butter or cream cheese on it, whether it’s dinner or the weekend (other than something like garlic-stuffed green olives, I probably go the whole weekend without ever even looking at a vegetable XD).

I’m probably missing out on nutrients that I should be getting, but I’m not suffering any ill effects right now. It is something I hope to correct in the near future, especially after the move, when I’ll be able to cook more often.

But, for right now, I’m not gonna sweat it.

EDIT – This post was inpired by a forum post on MDA that I figured I’d link to–rather than having me try to regurgitate what was said in it, it’s better to just point whoever might be interested to the original material: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread88510.html

One Response to “Not eating as many veggies as I probably should”

  1. I feel that way sometimes, too. I usually have a large serving of cooked veggies at dinner, and sometimes a handful of raw veggies for lunch, along with a serving of low carb fruit. I’ve never had any problems with it. And you’re right; paleo people were eating what was available to them. If you went outside and tried to find veggies to eat right now? You’d find maybe some leafy greens, strawberries, and maybe some early legumes (like peas).

Leave a Reply

